U.S. House and Senate voted to pass the Every Student Succeeds Act!

The U.S. House voted 359-64 in favor of the ESEA reauthorization.   All but three members of the Ohio delegation voted in favor of the legislation.   OEA members are being asked if they are a resident in a district where the member voted YES to call their office to thank the representative for their support of educators and students with their YES vote on ESEA reauthorization. Below are the DC office numbers for the YES voting members of the Ohio delegation:



DC Office #


Joyce Beatty (D)



Bob Latta (R)



Bill Johnson (R)



Bob Gibbs (R)



Marcy Kaptur (D)



Mike Turner (R)



Marcia Fudge (D)



Pat Tiberi (R)



Tim Ryan (D)



David Joyce (R)



Steve Stivers (R)



Jim Renacci (R)


On December 9th, 2015, the Senate voted to pass the Every Student Succeeds Act.
Click here for more information! ESEA Update

This effectively ends the failed era of No Child Left Behind and will bring the focus back to what really matters—ensuring all students have access to what they need to learn, regardless of their zip code.  These sweeping changes will begin a real change in learning  opportunities for all students.

Although federally mandated reading and math tests will continue, the new law will give states , not the US government,  authority to decide how to use the results in evaluating teachers and schools.  The law encourages states to limit the  time students spend on testing and it will diminish the high stakes for underperforming schools.  This law will allow struggling schools the flexibility to find local solutions while also  ensuring students are making progress.

President Obama is expected to sign this into law Thursday.

TAWLS Tuesday 12/8/15

ESEA Reauthorization:  The U.S. Senate is expected to vote on the reauthorization of ESEA by today.  This would mean the end of No Child Left Behind and more opportunity for students to learn.  If passed, the bill will go to the president’s desk to be signed into law.  This new version of the law, the Every Student Succeeds Act (S. 1177) is a big step forward.  It will make great strides on what really matters-whether students in all ZIP codes have equitable access to textbooks, AP classes and state of the art equipment.  It will also help ensure that educators’ voices are part of the decisions, reduce the number of standardized tests and decouple the high stakes attached to them.

Kindergarten Petition:  Thank you to all TAWLS members who took the time to sign the kindergarten cutoff date petitions that have been circulating throughout the district.  This is an issue that effects all of us regardless of what grade level we teach.  Please return petitions to Lisa Raczkowski at Monac by this Friday, December 11th.

Changes Effective January 1, 2016:  Click below for a document that outlines the procedural details of how current and future improvement plans will be represented in eTPES. Please review in order to understand how these changes affect you and take a moment to read your next Ohio Schools magazine for information on the Ohio Professional Development Standards as they relate to existing and any future improvement plans.  OEA staff are available to answer any questions you might have about the attached sheet. Feel free to email Torian Hodges-Finch your questions so he can get the answers for you.

Changes Effective Jan 1 2016

Gratitude:  The Employee Memorial Scholarship Committee would like to send a big THANK YOU! to Jennifer Gent, Seth Evearitt & Theresa Evearitt for all of their hard work on the 2015 Candy Budd Amazing Race!  We would also like to  thank everyone that participated in the event in remembrance of Candy and in support of the Employee Memorial Scholarship Fund!  An AMAZING $2,111.04  was raised through the event!
It is amazing what we can do together! TAWLS STRONG!

Board Meeting:  A special meeting has been scheduled for Friday, December 11, 2015 at 5:00 PM.  The purpose of this meeting is to address consideration of personnel matters.